{Super Simple} Roasted Spaghetti Squash with Vegetarian Bolognese Sauce

It’s no secret: I’m a Instragram-addict. (Follow me /larafromherz)

But what can I say? It’s a fun and great tool.

On Sunday, as I was cooking dinner, I thought to myself, “This is a super easy and delicious recipe… It would make a great how-to for my blog.” Now, I thought this as I was standing there in the kitchen, stove turned on, mushrooms cooking. I wasn’t about to run into my room to grab my “fancy” (real: in comparison to my iPhone) point-and-shoot camera. Oh, hello! Stranger Danger! So, I whipped out my iPhone from my back pocket, where it keeps itself cozy, and began taking photos.

“Now,” I thought to myself as I stuffed my healthy, comforting concoction into my eagerly awaiting belly. “Now, I must edit and share these absolutely amazing photos.” I’m super self-centered inside. It’s fine… Again, I whipped out my phone and turned on my handy-dandy Instagram app.


“What’s that?” you may have just asked yourself. That, my friend, is a spaghetti squash. It’s a type of winter squash whose flesh , when cooked, comes off in spaghetti-like strands. It’s flavor is mild; I’d describe it as a mix between butternut squash and cucumbers. They’re low in Calories and high in nutrition and make a great substitute for spaghetti.

Preparation of this fruit is fairly simple. I highly suggest checking out Oh She Glows’ how to recipe. Because my knife was very dull and I couldn’t cut the darn thing in half for the life of me, I took the alternative route and roasted it whole, as per this about.com recipe.

Now on to this amazing and, again, super simple sauce:

As a pescatarian, I’m constantly on the look out for great pescatarian foods and proteins. I came across Trade Joe’s Beefless Ground Beef the other day and grabbed it in a second. I knew it had to be good, coming from TJ’s. Now, to create this delicious faux bolognese faux-lognese sauce, all you need to do is this:

  • Sautée veggies – I used 6 mushrooms since that’s all I had on had. I highly suggest caramelizing some onion in there too!
  • Add 1 package beefless ground beef, stir, and heat up.
  • Pour in 1 jar of the tomato sauce of your preference.
  • Add a few dashes of salt and a sprinkle of dried garlic.
  • Simmer until it reaches your preferred consistency.

Really, people, it’s not rocket science. Just quick-and-easy, college-cooking genius.

All together now.

Cheese is heavenly. Apply generously.

Don’t get me wrong. Using a “proper” camera and a “proper” editing tool is best. Usually that’s my style. At the same time, sometimes I just go for what’s easiest at the time, and Instagram is often just that.

Yes, I am an Instragram addict, and if instagraming is wrong, I don’t want to be right.

What is your favorite smart phone/tablet app?

Answer in the comments. I’d love to read what you say!

P.S. Another thing I love? Infographics. Here are two fun Infographics on Istagram: *one* on the “Instagram Addict” and *two* on the rise of instagram.

P.S. Another thing I love? Infographics. Here are two (one and two) fun Infographics on Instagram.

One thought on “{Super Simple} Roasted Spaghetti Squash with Vegetarian Bolognese Sauce

  1. Pingback: Instagram Addict | IgHive

Leave a Reply

